Select Page


Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums

Honoring the memory of Rutherford B. Hayes, his family established the first presidential library open to the public in 1916. For 100 years the collections have grown beyond the core collection to include 90,000 books, manuscripts and images which reflect Hayes’ special interests, including genealogy, local history, and the Gilded Age period in which he lived.

Sandusky County Historical Society Museum

The Sandusky County Historical Society was formed on June 6, 1874. We believe we are the second historical society formed in the State of Ohio. Among the founders was Rutherford B. Hayes, 19th President of the United States who served as the Society’s first secretary. The original name of the society was the Sandusky County Pioneer and Historical Association.